Annapolis Statehouse
Annapolis Statehouse
Email Page Print Page

Sands House

130 Prince George Street - Click here for walking directions

The Sands House stands as one of the oldest surviving frame houses in Annapolis.  Dendrochronology – the science of dating building timbers by studying their growth rings – indicates a construction date perhaps as early as 1681, but other architectural clues suggest the house was built about 1739. The house takes its name from John Sands, a mariner and sail maker, who bought the house in 1771 and ran it as a tavern.  

Sands House is privately owned and not open to the public.